Kashi – on sale and worth it


I am NOT a fan of frozen dinners! (I used to think)

Last week I picked up this Lemongrass Coconut Chicken Kashi frozen entree on sale at Sunflower Market. It was delicious!

It has 300 calories, 3 grams fat and 18 grams of protein (Reid and I shared – so half that amount). I was intrigued that it has quinoa in it – a grain-like food with an unusually high level of complete protein. So I found the Kashi website to see what else is available. They have cereals (I’ve had Go Lean before and it’s great), crackers, snack bars, pilaf and frozen foods. I was particularly interested in frozen food since I am recovering from surgery and not a big fan of standing in the kitchen. I found the frozen foods page and they have all kinds of fun things. I love that you can click on each product and read reviews (scroll down).

Having spent three years in the Caribbean, I was drawn to this pizza:

Product description:

Caribbean Carnival Original Crust Pizza
Plantains, mangos, kale and fire-roasted red onions with mozzarella cheese and a sweet & spicy guava-infused, Jerk sauce on stone-fired Kashi 7 Whole Grains & Sesame® with flax seed crust.

Doesn’t that sound great? Ohhhhh how I miss mangos!

After drooling my way through the website, I convinced my husband to take me to Target last night to see if, by chance, they had some of these dinners.

And – guess what!?

Not only did they have them, they were on SALE!  Life is good.

Here’s our haul:

That ought to keep us in dinners during my down time.

Target sale prices:

  • Entrees – $2.88
  • Pizzas – $4.31
  • Pocket Bread Sandwiches – $1.77

Coupons:

If you register on the Kashi website, you will receive coupons.

2 thoughts on “Kashi – on sale and worth it

Leave a Reply

